Salsa a la Salsa

16 Mar

Lauren and I recently (and by recently I mean pre-Christmas 2009) went to Salsa a la Salsa, which is located on the heart of Eat Street in Minneapolis near the Convention Center.  It was a fierce blizzard that night, and we were surprised the place was even open, let alone serving several other patrons.

Unlike traditional Mexican restaurants, Salsa a la Salsa serves up some wild concoctions—dishes I wouldn’t have thought to be Mexican, and others I didn’t know existed.

We started with margaritas and the complimentary chips and salsa, then tried an appetizer that tickled our funny bones—Tostones con Camarones, which are fried plantains topped with large shrimp, sauteed in Chipotle tomatillo sauce with papaya chutney.  Now believe me when I say I’ve had my share of fried plantains topped with large shrimp, sauteed in Chipotle tomatillo sauce with chutney over the years, but papaya chutney?  This was the best I’ve had yet!  It was exotic and was the perfect taste-grabber for what was to come next.

Drinks and sauces from Salsa a la Salsa, Minneapolis

Margaritas on a snowy Christmassy night

For my main entree, I chose the Chicken Devil Mary Style, which was advertised as “VERY HOT!”, and added a chicken tamale on the side.  I can’t recall what Lauren ordered off hand.  My meal was pretty delicious.  It came with a platter of tortillas and I used the chicken strips, rice, and vegetables to create my own little wraps.  I remember the meal being hot, but not uber-hot.  The sauces that were given to us with our chips really unlocked the flavor of this dish, leaving me mildly perspiring and plenty satisfied, not even about to check the dessert menu.

Our entrees from Salsa a la Salsa, Minneapolis

Our entrees from Salsa a la Salsa

Lauren and I liked this place so much that we bought a gift certificate there for Lauren’s step-brother and his wife for their Christmas present.  Thanks to the great taste, authentic Mexican memorabilia, friendly hosts, and all-weather hours, and very reasonable prices, I give Salsa a la Salsa a strong 4.3/5 Noms.

Leave a Reply

